WHOSE AFRAID OF THE BIG BAD WOLF?

sm (6 of 8)This morning I got to go out into the front yard and take some photos of wolf tracks.  I was only this far away from the house (see photo below) at most, and many of the tracks were about 1/2 way between where I was when I took the photo and the house:sm (7 of 8)

So, that means the wolf making the tracks was probably less than 50 yards from the house yesterday/last night.

The tracks were discovered by Andy and Tank out on their evening walk.  It was a pretty big deal and J went out and used his old IPOD to get some night time photos.  I however was lazy and waited until this morning, which might not have been best as the night was warm and windy (probably above freezing most of the night with a storm coming in) so the snow deteriorated greatly over night.  Still, these are the photos I did get when I strolled out there this morning:

sm (1 of 8)

Nothing too spectacular as prints go because of the melting snow, but still, a wolf, in my front yard.  That is pretty cool and scary all at the same time.

sm (2 of 8)

J, of course, would like to shoot it in the name of protecting his chickens.  Andy and I aren’t on his page with that one.  While we understand the ranchers struggle with the wolves, we don’t think just killing them because they exist is very wise or good stewardship of God’s creation.  So, the rifle stays in the house.

sm (3 of 8)

We haven’t actually seen the wolf, but our neighbor has – he is of J’s mind-set in case you wondered.  He’ll shoot on sight if he gets a chance.

sm (5 of 8)

Impressive how long the claws are, huh?

We’ve had a wolf in the neighborhood before, but it was a number of years ago.  I saw it one day driving to the post office, and my brother saw it several mornings in a row in the same field as he went to work. 

 

Joining the rurality blog hop this week.

Categories: chickens, Daily life, J, Outdoors, Photography, Rural Thursdays, snow, the house, Winter, wolves | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “WHOSE AFRAID OF THE BIG BAD WOLF?

  1. Pat

    How exciting/scary is that! I felt the same way when I had bear tracks RIGHT IN FRONT (within 12″) of my garage door. I have seen it wandering through my yard as well. I guess if we live in their territory we have to accustom ourselves to sharing.

  2. Hi, visiting from the Rurality hop. That is SCARY that it’s so close to your house. Usually, where there’s one, there’s more. Stay safe.

  3. How spooky! You’re right, just having it that close makes it quite spectacular.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

