A SPECIAL PLACE

IMG_7068sm

One of the stops we made on our California travels was at the home of my cousin and her husband and their six kids and the home of my aunt and uncle.  It was all one stop as they live on adjoining properties in the little Sierra foothill town of Oakhurst.  Just saying “We’re going to Oakhurst” brings a joy and excitement to members of my family – my siblings all know exactly what I’m talking about.

IMG_7065sm

Beautiful properties that through my aunt and uncle and grandparents I grew up visiting as often as I could.  It is a special place for me with many fond memories and a sense of peace.

IMG_7054sm

Maybe it is made more special in that my mom, sister of my aunt, daughter of my grandparents, passed away, my dad is remarried to a wonderful woman and they have their own spot, so my sense of “home” as I knew it growing up remains only at this place.

IMG_7056sm

We spent our Christmases here year after year.

IMG_7055sm

As a young mom, I brought my toddler here and stayed to help care for my grandmother when my aunt and uncle needed a break to travel and see friends.

IMG_7060sm

We listened to music here, watched sunsets, held kittens, petted donkeys, swam in the pool, launched backpack trips into the high sierra, all in this very special place.

IMG_7052sm

It has changed over the years, trees have grown in my 40+ years of memory.  Houses have been built – I still have a distinct memory of my grandfather meeting us at the property when he brought down cabinets he built at another location to install into the retirement house he was building for he and my grandmother.  I was young, but I remember him telling my mom not to bring paper towels for washing windows because they left lint, but to bring old news paper instead – no streaks that way.

IMG_7073SM

It has a smell of oaks – and of oak wood burning in the winter.  There is a familiar buzz of bugs in the summer, and a wonderful breeze in the shady spaces.

IMG_7750sm

It is a place where my cousin-in-law can have his business in a building that was first a craft room, and then a “doll house” guest room occupied by some pretty special people over the years, with wood enough to get through a winter or two stored underneath.  Now two professional men can talk a bout business and professional matters while watching children at play out the open door.

IMG_7749sm

Even the rake is romantic in this place.

IMG_7747sm

My mom’s ashes are buried here not far from the “doll house.”  My grandparents too – they are under one of the big oaks.

IMG_7744sm

It is a place of inspiration for J and his budding adventure into raising chickens and ducks for their eggs just like his cousin is doing.

IMG_7742sm

This place is not far from Yosemite, where my uncle worked several seasons doing repair work to a water flume (or out-right building it, I can’t remember).  While there he had access to old worn out signs from the park, and the property is decorated with those, many of which are places I’ve hiked to – like Burro Pass, the location of a back pack trip with my dad and 7 boys from my church youth group during the summer between my freshman and sophomore years in high school.

IMG_7741sm

Even the ground in this place is beautiful – so full of life coming and going in such an expression of nature and creation wrapped into one great big opportunity to praise God for the way he makes it all work.

IMG_7740sm

Sometimes you do funny things here – don’t use the power between noon and 4 because it cost more during those hours – get that laundry done early.  You hang clothes on the line and they look beautiful fluttering in the wind.

IMG_7739sm

Adults make bedrooms out under the oaks here – and sleep in them all year round, rain or snow.  Just follow the path to the open bedroom and you will know the magic!

IMG_7737sm

Patriotism is expressed with honor and excitement here – including the excitement of a good hot political discussion from time to time – free speech for all!

IMG_7732sm

Food is grown right on the trees and in the garden.  My grandfather used to have the biggest garden I had ever seen, and he grew enough to give it to the senior center and sell it at the farmers market – and it made him happy to be out in that garden.  Once he even had a heart attack out there – went in, took a shower and drove himself down to the clinic, waving to my grandmother driving back up the mountain on his way down to town.  Yep, it is a place of character!

IMG_7731sm

And a place where beautiful things find their home.  I don’t know how to explain it, but other people’s cast-offs and weeds just blossom into eye candy here.

IMG_7730sm

Old ceramic power parts abound – my uncle once worked for the power company as a lineman, and he brought them home as he replaced them.  They are pieces with stunning glazes and simple design that just fit right in among the branches and leaves.

IMG_7729sm

It is the place where this summer my boy had a water balloon fight with an 89-year-old man – and the 89-year-old man got the best of it with a coffee can filled with water.  It is the place where stories of printing presses from Detroit to San Francisco are legend, and cooking is an art, and money is just not necessary in order to be richly blessed and wealthy beyond measure.

IMG_7751sm

Frugality rules here, and the result is joyful living without the distractions of keeping up with the Jones or anyone else.

IMG_7726sm

Hymns and old 33 albums play all day long.  Music has been played and sung by folks of all ages here – if you played an instrument you brought it when you came to visit because there would be a chance to share what you learned and hear what others have learned.

IMG_7396sm

Sit and enjoy books, recipes, photo albums of times gone by.  Apple sauce, “secret fudge recipes,” venison steaks for breakfast  always hit the spot.  Roosters crowing, fires crackling, finding Venus on the horizon at sunset.  Lively discussion, hugs and laughter.  These things all decorate this special place.

Obviously, I could go on and on, and it wouldn’t mean a thing to most of my readers, but it sure does mean a lot to my heart. 

Categories: Daily life, Family Fun, flowers, J, Outdoors, Photography, Travel, Uncategorized, Vacation | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “A SPECIAL PLACE

  1. Thanks for sharing. I could ot have expressed it better myself!

  2. pat

    What a wonderfully magical place. I’m so glad that you are able to return there to all the sweet memories, and more memories in the making. I feel the same way when I go back to Michigan and hike the trails and beaches.

  3. Elizabeth

    Love it!! Great pictures and such a perfect way to describe this most special place!!

  4. Joanne diochon

    Beautiful pictures and a really lovely background commentary running along with them. It’s easy to see why you would feel such affection for a place like that.I am happy that it is still there and that you had a chance to visit it again with your family.

    Growing up, we had a family place something like that but over the years as people moved away for jobs, and the older generation passed on, pieces of it were sold off and now all of it that is left for me are the memories of the times spent there. Still, I am glad that I have those memories, even if I can no longer go back the way you did.

  5. Jackie Nolen

    Thanks Susan Beth, I enjoyed the read! Hugs and prayers,

    Aunt Jackie

  6. Oakhurst is in my neck of the woods!!! We are about an hour south of Oakhurst…I too love that little town.

  7. Jeremy Becker

    Susan Beth,
    Thanks you for such a beautiful description of the place we have been blessed to live. We were very blessed by your visit and eagerly look forward to the next opportunity.
    Joy in Jesus!
    ~jsb

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

