FIVE ON FRIDAY – DECEMBER 14, 2012

IMG_9412sm

– one –

All photos in today’s post were taken yesterday afternoon as I drove out to J’s school to pick him up from an after school activity – about 4:30 p.m.  The river is the Gallatin River as it flows northwest towards the headwaters of the Missouri River. 

I will return to Yellowstone photos on Monday, I promise!  Maybe sooner if I get a post done over the weekend.

IMG_9414sm

– two –

This is the weekend to get baked goods made, packing done, because on Monday I will be mailing to those who didn’t get their packages already.  But to start it off, we’re having company tonight – a family of 7.  I’ll be leaving the office early to clean house and get the dinner started.  Rare for me to leave town early these days, so I’m kind of excited about this – silly, I know, but sometimes I miss more hours at home doing homey type things like cooking and cleaning.  Besides, if I get the house all clean today, I’ll have a much more free weekend for the fun baking and crafting that I want to do.

IMG_9413sm

– three –

I’m having success with my body bugg – have I mentioned that before?  Must be because it is so exciting to me.  I’ve lost just about 5.5 pounds in 2 weeks.  For me, that is so amazing!  I’m excited to keep going and keep moving.  I’ve got to improve a bit with my food tracking because sometimes I don’t get it quite right.  Part of that is I’m pretty erratic about my meals – I don’t plan ahead enough, that’s for sure.  Time to get back on the menu planning band wagon!

IMG_9417sm

– four –

If I can get my baking and mailing done this weekend I’m ready to really focus on bringing a Christmas spirit into our home.  It’s decorated at this point, but I want to help us focus our hearts and minds on Jesus and what it was for Him to leave heaven and His perfect existence to come to earth and deal with sin, poverty, illness and politics.  Can you imagine?  Obviously the sacrifice of the cross hits us all, but really, his sacrifice started long before that when he stepped down from heaven.  It is hard for me to find the right words to express this, so I want to focus on this a bit more and get a better grasp on what it all means.

IMG_9419sm

– five –

One little word for 2013 is starting to be on my radar screen.  I had a word last weekend that I was so excited about, but now I can’t remember what it was.  Ugh! 

But I need to follow-up a bit with 2012’s word – Progress.  We’ve made some progress on things this year – finances, recently my weight loss, parenting issues, academic issues, office issues.  Nothing is finished and we certainly haven’t arrived in general, but progress is being made.  I like that!

Categories: Daily life, Faith, Family Fun, Five on Fridays, One Little Word, Outdoors, Photography, Progress, the house | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “FIVE ON FRIDAY – DECEMBER 14, 2012

  1. The late afternoon sun give the photos a beautiful color! The Galattin Canyon is such a beautiful area. I was fortunate to visit it near Bozeman one summer many years ago.

  2. Enjoyed your snowy river shots and the red building with the curvy road!

  3. Absolutely love that 4th shot. Sounds like you are getting off to a fun weekend. As for your word ‘progress’ and the incomplete status of points you have aimed to make progress – just remember, this is a never ending task – progress is always going forward and as long as you are not going backwards, you have achieved your ‘word’.

    carry on friend!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

