I THINK I’LL START DRIVING THIS FROM NOW ON

You see, it can’t get the keys locked into it with this guy stuck inside:

Because right now it’s almost 6 p.m. on the night before Thanksgiving.  We still have the truck at the front end repair shop waiting for us to pick it up, which we can’t do because the keys are locked in the Subaru (which spent last week at the  body shop after colliding with a deer).  AAA isn’t here yet to get the keys out, but never fear, Tank is inside the car keeping those keys nice and safe.  Oh, and I still have five  places to go for errands before stores close tonight.

I think I need to take some lessons in margins, because right now I have none.  No energy margin.  No time margin.  My days are over-full and under-productive.

Lest you think I’m complaining, let me tell you that at this point all I can do is laugh.  Laugh at how stupid I am for thinking we can ever get it all together.  Laugh at how much craziness we invite into our own world.  Laugh at the constant recycling of the to do list – same things go on it each day, because they don’t get done  because something came up.

But you know, yesterday I had the same to do list I have today, but my friend needed help – as in the 911 medical emergency all afternoon at the E.R. type of  needing help.  And I have no regrets for abandoning the to do list and spending my day at the hospital keeping a single woman company when she had no family around. 

In fact, sitting with her in the E.R. waiting for the doctor to explain what was going on, talking of God’s plans for us and how he slows us down when we need it, and pulls us in new directions gives a certain perspective to this current keys-in-the-locked-dog-filled-car predicament.

Oh, AAA guy is here – and it is snowing like the dickens.  So must be time to head out there.

I probably don’t need to tell you, you probably already guessed.  My jacket?  Locked in the car.

Praise God for his sense of humor in creating creatures who live  life in such a wild and crazy manner but still joyful manner.

Categories: Daily life, Photography, Tank | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “I THINK I’LL START DRIVING THIS FROM NOW ON

  1. I don’t know that I would be laughing after all that. Then again I probably would because what else do you do.
    It was very kind of you to stay with your friend in the ER while she waited for the doctor.
    Have a Blessed Thanksgiving even if you don’t get everything done you wanted to.

  2. I thought, because my week has not run according to my list either, I’d share my verse for this week, “Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand.” Prov. 19:21.

  3. Oh my what an eventful time you have had. Hope you had a great Thanksgiving any way. May the Lord bless you abundantly for your kindness to your friend.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

