THIS AND THAT THURSDAY – 9/27/2012

Now that fall is officially the season, I’m catching little hints of it.  As you can see from photo above, there was actually frost on the ground in recent weeks – not often, but once or twice.

And the trees are starting to get yellow – at least some of them are.
I keep hearing the phrase “tinder dry” on the news, referring to the landscape around here, especially when dry lightning storms are predicted.  Lots of local fear of more fires – the state government just extended “Wild Fire Season” because of how unusually warm and dry things are around here.  I feel like the whole fire season has somewhat dominated this blog, and believe me, I am ready for it to end!
I got some hope that we may get our wish when speaking to my wild-fire-fighting nephew today, where he indicated he’s back in town and believes he’s here to stay.  But honestly, a good dump of snow would confirm that for all of us.  There have been years where we’ve had snow by now, so it is not totally unrealistic.  Just to get some good snow feelings going, here’s some inspiration from last fall:

Yes, we are praying for snow to come soon – especially J, who loves snow more than any other weather condition God provides.

I’m sharing this post with Rural Thursdays and This or That Thursdays  and Thursdays Favorite Things Hop – won’t you come join us?

Categories: Daily life, Faith, Fire, Outdoors, Photography, Rural Thursdays, This and That Thursdays | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “THIS AND THAT THURSDAY – 9/27/2012

  1. Lovely – we haven´t had frost in my parts of Sweden yet but I hope it will come soon. 🙂

  2. Lovely shots.

  3. Ha ha, not praying for snow anytime soon here 😉 Great pictures!

  4. I love Fall and I can’t wait for snow! Thanks for sharing these beautiful photos 🙂

  5. pat

    Here’s hoping that you have snow soon! Washington is having wildfires as well–everyone seems to be “tinder dry” this year. We are all hoping for the fall/winter rains to start soon. Love the frost on those leaves–I LIVE for frost!

  6. no snow, please no – not yet.

  7. Tracie

    Beautiful!!

  8. Nancy

    Nebraska has been downgraded to Extreme. I think I shall wish for snow as well. Love that last image — gorgeous. xo

  9. Your place is beautiful with snow!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

