THIS OR THAT THURSDAY – 9-13-2012

Signs of autumn are here – frost several mornings, the basil is gone from the garden, the late season flowers are reaching their peak (or are already past), the apples are ready, and I’m wearing sweaters all day.  Yesterday the high temps were in the very low 70’s, and really it was mostly in the low to mid 60’s for the day.  I like this kind of weather, but wish there was a bit more moisture in the air – things are dry and dusty here, and there is still the perpetual smokey haze from the Millie fire. 

Yes, the fire still burns, but it is sort of burning in place from what I understand, which has allowed the fire fighters to get it about 65% contained, which is great progress!  They are down-grading the level of team needed to manage it from here on out, and the size of the crew is way down from the peak of over 500.  By tomorrow there will be between 100 and 200 crew members.  It is a blessing that this fire has been so well-managed and hasn’t done the damage it had the potential to do.

I will be picking apples tonight and making apple sauce.  Then I’ll invite friends to come get apples that are left before the birds do – as you can see from the photo above, some birds are already helping themselves!  But I think there are enough to share.

I want to honor those killed in Libya this week.  So very sad and such a serious situation.  I have lots of thoughts about this subject, but to share them right now would turn this into too much of a political and religious discussion, and I don’t think I want to do that.  But in case you are wondering, they are mostly  loving analytical thoughts and not big tirades about who I like or don’t like.

I’m sharing this post with Rural Thursdays and This or That Thursdays  and Thursdays Favorite Things Hop – won’t you come join us?

 

Categories: Outdoors, Photography, Rural Thursdays, This and That Thursdays | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “THIS OR THAT THURSDAY – 9-13-2012

  1. pat

    I really like all these finds and the details you focused on. And, I like the white background; I think it makes the colors pop.

  2. what a great shots! I especially like the second from the bottom!

  3. Margaret Evans

    I agree with Pat. The white background really makes the colors in your shots stand out.

  4. Fabulous photo’s! would love to have you link up over here at Fishtail Cottage’s garden party??? xoxo, tracie

  5. Very nice collection of shots.

  6. Celine

    Really like the white background too!!

  7. lovely. Thank you for sharing at the Thursday Favorite Things hop. Your participation helps make it a success.I’m sorry I am slow to visit this week as I am fighting a nasty head cold and my time on the computer has been limited.Wishing you a beautiful day .

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

