FIVE ON FRIDAY – JULY 20

– one –

Mid-summer: Yesterday when I said it felt like August for me I got some kick back on that. 

So sorry, I’m not trying to rush it, believe me. 

Just seems that it is so dry, the temps are so hot, there are actually tomatoes on my plants, the days have been so full, and I feel like we have more summer left to do but not enough time to do it all.  These are things I usually associate with August.

Add to that the fact that we usually don’t go back to school until after Labor Day, but with the change in schools we go back the Monday before Labor Day, and well, it feels more like the end of summer than the middle.

I’m working on making the correction in my attitude so I can enjoy the 5+ weeks we have left.

– two –

Visit with Grandpa Gary:

My day was here last weekend (Friday morning through Monday morning).  We had a very nice visit.  Wish his wife cold have come with him, but we enjoyed him all the same.  We hung out at the house, went to the Lewis and Clark Caverns (see photo below), went out to dinner at Stacy’s Steakhouse, shot guns, shot arrows (thank you Grandpa for buying a new supply of arrows, we needed them), went to church, walked at least 6 or 7 miles in a couple of trips, and generally relaxed and enjoyed each other. 

Here are a couple photos from the visit

– three –

Fifteen years:

Andy and I celebrated our 15th anniversary this week.  Yeah for us!  Marriage is good – hard sometimes, but good.  We are blessed.

Hey, before I posted this photo (above) I never noticed what a strange tie he wore for our wedding. I wonder what ever happened to that tie.  It’s a weird one!

– four –

Sir Scott’s:  For our anniversary Andy took me to Sir Scott’s Oasis for dinner.  We’d never been there before, but had heard a lot about it.  Andy says its nationally know for its steaks. 

Well, my steak was excellent, but the rest of the meal was just normal – in fact I think I like Stacy’s better on the other things.  By the way, Stacy’s is better priced and really super close to our house, with better service, although the service at Oasis wasn’t bad or anything, just not spectacular.  And if you pay almost $30 for a meal, wouldn’t you think you would get better than a vinyl table-cloth with paper place-mate advertising local rel estate and excavating companies?

Next time we need a fancy meal I think we’ll get our friend Daniel to cater it.  Sorry, no link to Daniel’s business.

– five –

In the News:  Sorry to end on a sad note, but it cannot be ignored.

Today’s news about the shooting in Aurora Colorado is very sad indeed.  Seems like everything in the news is sad – Syria, European debt crisis and related events, unemployment.  Our world is in decline. It is biblical for sin to bring about destruction, but that doesn’t mean it is not painful.

My prayers are with all those in Colorado, who must feel like the summer of 2012 has been a curse (fires and shootings certainly don’t feel like blessings).  May God bring peace and comfort to the hearts of all of those who are touched by these tragedies.

Categories: Andy, Daily life, Extended Family, Faith, Five on Fridays, Outdoors, Photography | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “FIVE ON FRIDAY – JULY 20

  1. Wow, I can understand why you feel that way about summer. Seems like your days are jam packed with activities, and when you are busy time just seems to fly. I sort of feel the same way, and it saddens me because up here in Alaska our summers are so short, precious, and dear. My thoughts and prayers also go out to the many people who are affected by this tragedy in Colorado. It’s so sad.

  2. Oh yes, actions like that makes my heart sad. 😦
    15 years as married is fab though – my hubby and I have been married since 2001. 🙂

  3. My what a full post you have here. First of all Happy Anniversary to you and your husband. What a shame about your meal. At least you know where you can go for a good meal.
    My thoughts are with the people of Colorado too. Heard about it on our news yesterday. Shocking and such a waste of life.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

