FIVE ON FRIDAY – JULY 13, 2012

– one –

We had some pretty awesome storms in the afternoons this week – well at least they had awesome winds.  I took this shot on Wednesday as we were driving home from work.  Not too much later we got about 200 yards from home and could see something blocking the road ahead, but it took a while to figure out what it was. 

Turned out our neighbors’ trampoline had been blown off its tie downs, over our fence, across our field and out into the road. 

When we got to it the grandfather was out chaining it to a big Cottonwood tree, and Andy helped him – no photos of that as the winds were blowing what seemed like 90 miles-an-hour and I had all I could handle just to get the car parked in front of the garage and get the groceries into the house.

We were without power until after mid-night, so I got taken out for dinner by my dear husband.  All in all, not a bad evening, although the trampoline was a total loss!

– two –

In that same big windstorm my friend Carin lost this big birch tree.  So Andy and I went over on Wednesday night and helped her cut it up. 

It was so good to check in with her – our lives often keep us so busy we don’t get to just spend time together.  This was a great opportunity.

And now she’ll have some firewood for J to split for her over the coming weeks.

– three –

I have found some great photography sites in the past couple of days, prompting me (inspiring me) to grab my 50mm and get some photos – took this one outside the office one evening while Andy was locking up.  My daisy’s haven’t blossomed yet, but they have a lot of heads on them, so hopefully soon!

– four –

J has been away at camp, and I really miss him.  We pick him up tomorrow around noon, and I’m excited.  Of course, I’ll be bringing Grandpa Gary with me, who arrives tomorrow morning, so J will probably not give me the time of day.  Such is the life of a momma of a 12-year-old.

– five –

While Grandpa Gary is here we might do some target shooting – well the boys and he might, all my shooting will be with camera.  I hope that would be fun for him. 

I’m struggling with finding activities that he would enjoy that don’t require tons of expense or distant traveling.  We thought of going to the Lewis and Clark Caverns, but I think Grandpa Gary gets claustrophobic, and there are some tight spots in those caves that he just might like to skip. We’ll see.

It might be a bit of a relaxed hang-out together weekend, and I think he would probably be okay with that.

Whatever we do, I want to get lots of photos of it.

With company for the weekend, I won’t be coming into the office to post, so see you all on Monday with lots to be thankful for.

Categories: Daily life, Extended Family, Family Fun, Five on Fridays, J, Outdoors, Photography | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “FIVE ON FRIDAY – JULY 13, 2012

  1. Celine

    Too bad about the tree – at least it will be used for firewood!

  2. Pat

    Nasty winds! Glad you were able to help out your neighbor, and she now has some firewood. Hope you have a fun weekend!

  3. we had such a storm a couple of weeks ago – trees are still being cut into firewood and hopefully folks around have finally gotten electricity returned (took many 2 weeks). Sounds like you have a full weekend ahead – enjoy!

  4. Wow, that must have been a wild wind to do that to the trampoline! Last week we had some wild winds (though not like yours) and our neighborhood looked like a patio umbrella graveyard. They were all over the place…in their yards, and out on the sidewalks, in neighbor’s yards…etc. Hope you have a great weekend!

  5. Kelly

    Sorry for the storm damage to your tree. We lost a few here in our storms as well. I do love your photo journaling.

    Kelly
    mytimepassages.com

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

