MY POOR LILACS! AND OTHER WEEKEND NEWS

I believe they will survive and produce blossoms, but on Saturday and Sunday it was hard to feel encouraged about that!

On to other weekend news:  the weather that did this to my lilacs is also the weather that I ran my first 1/2 marathon in on Saturday.  Let me give you a few more details:  34 degrees was the high as far as I cold tell.  The winds were out of the East at about  30 mph.  We ran almost due East, so that means the wind was against us the ENTIRE way at a good clip.  There were snow flurries about 75% of the time.

Basically the weather conditions were terrible.

Apparently J told Andy as they were driving over to see me finish:  “Poor Momma, this will be the end of her running career.”  He he he!  The weather really was bad!

But I finished the 13.1 miles in 15 minutes less than I anticipated.  I think I was close to last, but really, there weren’t that many people running – only diehards and me to prove a point.  The others were all much more experienced than me.  And I really did expect to be the last one across the finish line.

I need to give a big shout out to my friends Roberta, the Hawley family and the Wendell family because they all came and cheered me on – some of them even running with me for a few minutes at a time.  It was wonderful to have all of them, and I appreciate them so much for that.

Andy took photos – got some good ones we thought, but it turned out – no card in the camera.  The Hawley’s have some photos (Donna ran the race too, finishing about 20 minutes ahead of me).

Now I have an ugly grey shirt with a picture of a really old guy running on it to show for my efforts.  And a sense of accomplishment.

But my comment about the whole thing would be:  I like my training runs much better.  I may or may not have already searched to see what upcoming Montana races look to be reasonable for me to train for.  I think I might need a race that is on a decent weather day.

And, two days of rest later and I really can’t feel any sore muscles or joints at all – completely recovered, and if I can avoid a thunder-storm this evening, I might go for a bike ride to get this old body moving again – might.

There is more from the weekend, but time to close this post out and get back to work!

Categories: Daily life, J, Outdoors, Photography, Running | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “MY POOR LILACS! AND OTHER WEEKEND NEWS

  1. Oh no! That snow looks so out of place on the lilacs.

  2. Those poor lilacs look so cold and unhappy!

  3. Celine

    Brrrr – can’t believe you got some snow!!! And congrats on your run! That is awesome!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

