PROGRESS REVISITED

As I think of my word for the year, “Progress” I sometimes wonder what I want to make progress with.  Much of it is practical – getting our debt paid down, organization of the office and home, stuff like that. 

But I also have some areas that enrich my life that I really want to make progress in – getting more family photos taken (not just portraits, but activity and relationship  photos), returning to scrap booking and other art, getting the garden to productivity, losing weight, that kind of thing.

I’ve come to realize that the little things that seem like extras really are what decorate my life with enjoyment.  Not that I don’t enjoy making progress on financial or organizational issues.  Because I am making progress on those.  Many of the nagging items that I tend to procrastinate on are getting done.

Yes, you read that right – they are getting done:

  • The way I keep the books has improved greatly.
  • I am keeping up on Andy’s time sheets at work;
  • The house is more organized – not always as perfect as I would like, but better.

These are things that I feel really good about!

So, my attention is turning to things that are a bit more on the enjoyment side, but have a practical side sometimes.

For example, I’m trying to get the camera out and take photos more – as I did with these photos this weekend when we had family in town to celebrate a graduation from MSU.  I didn’t over do it, but did get a few photos taken, and love it.

I’m also working on updating this blog more often – having photos really helps with that.

Add to that, I’ve been doing some gardening.  Actually, a fair amount of gardening.  My seedlings are all up and coming along and I remember to water them.  I even transplanted some of them to bigger pots last night.  And, here is the really big thing, I’ve weeded out the garden significantly – still have a long way to go on that, but I’ve been using the light in the late evenings to get that accomplished. 

So, I am making progress on both the necessary essentials, and on the enjoyable things.  Gardening, photography and blogging are all enjoyable to me and I’m glad to have them in my life a bit more.

Oh, and one more thing – I ran eight miles without stopping on Sunday – that is progress.  Working towards a half marathon at the end of the month, and I really should give that its own blog post!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

