ESSAY PROMPTS

I need another “hobby” like I need a hole in the head, but I’ve been thinking about improving my writing skills.  Story telling and the like.   Being able to express myself and having focus in my blog posts

 

In pursuit of a way to do this I assumed there would be lots of  weekly challenges on the web or lists of prompts – an essay a week kind of thing.  My initial search was cursory, to say the least, but it was also disappointing.  What I found was geared towards teachers at the high school and junior high school level.  Not was I was looking for. 

The search will continue when the almighty dictator of time permits.  Until then, I am beginning to compile my own list.  The goal is to find 25 writing prompts and complete them over the next year (or so).   I’m thinking of essays, not short stories.  But fiction is allowed.  Self reflection is encouraged.

My list begins:

1.  Hiding in plain sight

2.  Behind the walls

3.  One step

4.  The back porch

5.  Under my hat

6.  A little peek

That puts me more than a quarter of the way to my goal. 

I’m open to suggestions.  Leave a comment and tell me what you would use as a writing prompt.  I just might include it in my list.

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “ESSAY PROMPTS

  1. Write on Edge/Red Writing Hood may be of interest to you. I don’t write but I have a friend that uses their promts. You may want to check them out

    http://writeonedge.com/red-writing-hood/

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

