2012: NEW YEAR – – NEW WORD

Last year’s word, “Proactive” had a profound impact on my life.  It really created a theme for the year, inspired me to live with more purpose, and I can see the results of this theme in so many of the decisions I made and actions I took. 

While there are things I have to react to, for the most part the important aspects of my life are heading in a direction because I engaged in life and chose to got that way – proactivity!  It feels good to know my life is more than a pinball bouncing around in response to stimuli that are out of my control.

Considering that resolutions and goals have often been a complete flop in my life, it feels great that proactivity was a success.  That success really put the pressure on to find a new word for 2012 that has the potential for an equal amount of success. 

I was tempted to stick with “Proactive” again, but that seemed less than . . . .  well, less than proactive.

So, the search began a few weeks ago.  My mind has pondered the many possibilities.  I have thought of words and rejected them.  Perfectly good words like:

Plenty

Basics

Simple

Do

Wife

Clean

Art

Clear

Go

Meaningful

Act

remnant

Pray

Helpmate

Clear

Content

Less

Focus

Balance

Engaged

Home

And as I type I am just deciding.  But let me tell you the two finalists:  Glorify and Light.  Both of them meet my criteria of wanting a word that will keep me growing and stretching towards my goals.  Both of them have a significant spiritual component.  Both of them represent quality.  Both of them are proactive.

In contemplating “Glorify,”  I looked at Psalm 115:1, which reads:

Not to us, O Lord, not to us

but to your name be the glory

because of your love and faithfulness.

Pretty powerful stuff, and there is even a scripture song we sing at church that has that verse as the chorus – or at least something close to that.

But for “Light” there are plenty of verses as well, and I focused on Matthew 5: 14 – 16:

You are the light of the world.  A city on a hill cannot be hidden.  Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl.  Instead, they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house.  IN the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.

Wow, can’t beat that for inspiration and guidance on how to live.  And there at the end it incorporates the whole glorifying God concept as well.

Plus, on the not-so-spiritual side, Light will be a big part of my photography work this year – learning to see and use the light to make photos more beautiful in a way that praises God for the creation he has given us.

So, I guess I’ve decided on Light, but will incorporate into it a glorifying of God – I’m getting to have my cake and eat it two with these words. 

What better way to start the new year than with Light! 

Categories: Daily life, Faith, Light, One Little Word, Photography | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “2012: NEW YEAR – – NEW WORD

  1. beautiful pictures and wonderful thoughts….a great way to start 2012

  2. wow, i love all these shots. I wonder if you have to take special care of your camera when shooting in extreme cold like this? I live in HI so no freezing temps here.

  3. I love the shots with snow but that barn is spectacular. I like the choice of Light as your word because it really can expend and mean so much.

  4. Celine

    Beautiful choice of word!

  5. Beautiful shots, and such wonderful lighting! As I read your post, I was very much drawn to the word/concept of “light” and then thought you chose very, very well in focusing on the Light! Very inspiring blog! Your world looks a bit like my world, in North Dakota. The care I take with my camera is to put it in a zip lock bag, and leave it there when I come in from the cold, to prevent moisture condensation, till it warms up.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

