THE ART OF WAITING

Over the years I have developed a real appreciation for Advent and the time of preparation for the coming Messiah.  I love that time of anticipation and waiting.  But it is over for this year and I find myself asking why I am not just as anticipatory about the return of our King. 

Oh, there are times when I am desperately waiting for Him to return and take us home to heaven.  But if I am honest, that is often more as a desire for escape from the ills of this world than it is an excitement about the Kingdom.

I am more likely to look forward to heaven when faced with the struggle of prioritizing the use of resources and knowing that something “important” is not going to get the resources that would be best for it. 

I am more likely to long for Jesus’ return when conflict has erupted in a relationship I value.

I am more likely to desire the end of this age when I cannot seem to find the way to make my loved ones happy.

I am more likely to anticipate the rapture when I am tired and worn out with the ins and outs of daily living.

Shouldn’t I be looking for His return even when things are going great – however rare that might feel. 

Shouldn’t I be  moment by moment hoping for that ultimate perfection to be the reality?

Aren’t there things I can be doing day by day to turn my focus to his return?

How can I be like Simeon, “who was righteous and devote.  He was waiting for the consolation of Israel, and the Holy Spirit was upon him.” (Luke 2:25)

I want to develop the art of waiting for the consolation of the world!

 

 

Categories: Daily life, Faith, Photography | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “THE ART OF WAITING

  1. Joe Labriola

    Wow that picture totally makes the winter worthwhile.

  2. Gorgeous photos…blessings to you and your family.

  3. Cynthia Swenson

    Howdy from Wyoming! Your blog is lovely! I too have been recognizing a lukewarm attitude in myself about the return of Jesus & have been simply confessing that to the Lord & asking Him to fan a flame of desire in my heart that frankly I don’t know how to accomplish. I’m waiting, knowing He will hear me! Love & prayers, in Jesus, Cynthia

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

