PROACTIVITY – LAST DAY: TRADING FEAR FOR GRATITUDE

It doesn’t happen every day, but periodically I wake up from a bad dream and can’t go back to sleep.  My mind is very active when I sleep, so dreams are often wild and strange.  But when they involve something that separates me from my loved ones I often wake up in great fear and a desire to physically cling to my husband or my son for fear of losing them.

That was the case last night/this morning.  I dreamt that J was taken to jail and I couldn’t have access to him.  So, at 5:30 a.m. I was up trying to resist the temptation to go crawl in his bed and hold him like a little baby.  That would have woke him up, and this being parent teacher conference day, it was a rare chance for him to sleep in.  I don’t think he would have appreciated a momma bear crawling into his bed and mauling him with fearful love.

So I went down stairs and entertained/distracted myself.  I processed some photos (a theme of my last few days) and used my cricut to cut some paper letters for J to use on a school project.  And I turned to my gratitude journal after a bit of time cruising through some art blogs and seeing a reference to a gratitude December Daily on Ali Edward’s recent post – which I may do or modify for November, depending on how late I stay up tonight.

True to Ann’s wisdom in chapter 8 of One Thousand Gifts, the fear left me, and an exciting outlook for this day resulted. 

The words of Isaiah 43:1 come to mind – 

But now, this is what the LORD says –

he who created you, O Jacob,

he who formed you, O Israel:

“Fear not, for I have redeemed you;

I have summoned you by name;

you are mine.

So, here are some of the things in my gratitude list:

570.  Friends just down the street

571.  Pumpkin bread

572.  Photos with potential

573.  Running with Andy

574.  Apples picked just in time

575.  Plans for a trip at the holidays

576.  Laura’s warm heart

577.  Bright yellow leaves

578.  J and Andy enjoying the Stanford football game – it was exciting!

579.  Supplies on hand for projects that come up

580.  Truck fixed for free

581.  Snow on the mountains

582.  Joy of photography

583.  Opportunity to do art

584.  Friends at church

585.  Being included in social plans

586.  Sewing machine available for the needs that have arisen

587.  Reading To Kill a Mocking Bird to J at night

588.  Little bits of money coming in from unexpected areas

589.  Being reminded that this is the day Martin Luther stepped out with courage and stood for what is still to this day the right thing.

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “PROACTIVITY – LAST DAY: TRADING FEAR FOR GRATITUDE

  1. I know what you mean!
    I find myself worrying so much about my kids and husband sometimes that it is stifling!!
    Glad you were able to let go of your anxiety 🙂

  2. How awesome! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

