14 YEARS TODAY

It was 14 years ago today that my mom went to be with Jesus.  And I still miss her.
 
Lately, that missing has come hard during church when we are singing songs of worship that I think she would have enjoyed.  I look to the screen where the words are posted and almost always see that these beautiful songs were written after 1997, so they were not songs she ever had an opportunity to hear.  Then, I feel like she missed out on something.  Which is kind of funny, because she couldn’t carry a tune if you gave it to her in a bucket.  But she loved songs of worship – had strong opinions about them.
 
This song, Revelation Song, is one I think she would enjoy.  Maybe I just think that because I enjoy it, and now in my imagination I get to make decisions on her behalf – you know things like “Oh, she would so  love my son.”  (well, that one is pretty much a given) or “She would support our decision to . . .” 
 
Anyway, when we sing this song in church, and many others, I think of her, and sometimes I even get teary.  But with this one they are sort of tears of Joy.  Tears of knowing she is already in heaven.  She is already experiencing Holiness in a way that I cannot even imagine.  She is singing (probably in tune now) praises with a fulfillment that is beyond my comprehension.
 
So, for today, here is Revelation Song for my mom – I can’t carry a tune either, so I’ll just share the words and you can sing along if you want.
Worthy is the,
Lamb who was slain
Holy, Holy, is He
Sing a new song, to Him who sits on
Heaven’s Mercy Seat
Holy, Holy, Holy
Is the Lord God Almighty
Who was, and is, and is to come
With all creation I sing:
Praise to the King of Kings!
You are my everything,
And I will adore You…!
Yeah!
Clothed in rainbows, of living color
Flashes of lightning, rolls of thunder
Blessing and honor, strength and
Glory and power be
To You the Only Wise King,
Yeah
Holy, Holy, Holy
Is the Lord God Almighty
Who was, and is, and is to come, yeah
With all creation I sing:
Praise to the King of Kings!
You are my everything,
And – I – will – adore You!
Yeah!
 
Filled with wonder,
Awestruck wonder
At the mention of Your Name
Jesus, Your Name is Power
Breath, and Living Water
Such a marvelous mystery
Yeah…
Holy, Holy, Holy
Is the Lord God Almighty
Who was, and is, and is to come, yeah
With all creation I sing:
Praise to the King of Kings!
You are my everything,
And – I – will – adore You!
Holy, Holy, Holy
Is the Lord God Almighty
Who was, and is, and is to come,
With all creation I sing:
Praise to the King of Kings!
You are my everything,
And – I – will – adore YOU…
Come up lift up His Name
To the King of Kings…
We will adore YOU Lord…
King of heaven and earth
King Jesus, King Jesus
Aleluya, aleluya, aleluya!
Majesty, awestruck Honor
And Power and Strength and Dominion
To You Lord,
To the King, to King
To the King of Glory

All these photos I took yesterday morning because when I saw that sunrise I knew they would be in a post for the anniversary of my mom going to heaven.  they are just right for that.

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “14 YEARS TODAY

  1. A beautiful post, filled with beautiful photos and a lovely song… thank you for sharing your thoughts of your mother with us!

  2. Simply beautiful! I can imagine your pain. Praying for lots of loving memories that flash back with comfort.

  3. I, too, am participating in the 31 Day Challenge—and ran across your site via the linky link page. I am also writing on living intentionally, and part of the dialogue stems from the pain of losing my mother one year ago. I know your grief. My heart, and prayers, go out to you!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

