LOOKING TO RENT A BEDROOM IN SOMEONE ELSES HOUSE!

This morning a little after 7 a.m. I awoke to a bit of a growl and bark from Leo, who was laying on his big old soft bed on the floor next to my nice warm comfy bed.

I looked over just in time to see sleek little Sophie flying through the air over Leo, turn 90 degrees mid-air, and land with a pounce very near a MOUSE behind Leo’s bed.

My 50 beats a minute resting heart rate instantly hit 185 bpm, and I told Andy to get out of bed and do something about this.

He grumbled something to the effect of “she’s just doing her job.”

But Leo and I were not satisfied.

Leo clearly thought something more should be done and told Andy in no uncertain terms.

We got up, I left the room as quickly as I could and took refuge at my computer to read some blog updates from friends.

Sometime around 8 a.m. I heard J excitedly yelling “She’s got it!!”

A smile hit my face.

I grabbed my camera and ran upstairs.

There was a lot of action in my room.

Apparently Sophie had it “trapped” in a pile of old boating rope I have under a chair waiting for me to figure how to hang it on the wall in the attractive manner that is pictured in my head.

Anyway, I couldn’t quite get the shot, so I stood in the doorway.

And you know what?

That little bugger went running right between my feet.

And into the room next door.

I screamed.

Andy laughed!

And laughed.

 

Sophie ran into the next room, which is sort of a storage room for old business clothes, paper work, and the cat box.  Not our prettiest room, for sure.

But Miss Sophie was successful in extracting the mouse from the pile of clothes in the bottom of the closest.

In case you didn’t catch a good look, here’s a photos that is much closer up, and you can see that the mouse does not really like the cat and mouse game.

Oh, if you aren’t sure you want to see this, avert your eyes quickly…

Ready

. . .

Here it come . . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

  

 

. . .

. . .

Okay, you can open your eyes again.

Anyway, I was already to celebrate Sophie the super cat!

Then she brought it back into my room – to show off her trophy I assume.

And then

would you believe

that silly cat

tossed that mouse in the air,

it landed

in my beautifully maintained, comfortable as all get out, great to wear in the snow, 15-year-old, black, doc martin maryjane shoe!

I almost cried.

But my heart was pounding too hard for my body to put together anything as organized as tears.

Those were some of my favorite shoes.

I don’t think I’ll ever be able to put my toes in them again.

I left the room.

From the noises I heard from the boys – between the peels of laughter – and from Sophie’s pouncing sounds, I’ve gathered that the mouse ultimately got away.

Does anyone have a bedroom for rent?

I don’t think I’ll be able to use my for a while.

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “LOOKING TO RENT A BEDROOM IN SOMEONE ELSES HOUSE!

  1. Debbie

    hope mr. Andy likes the couch !~ =) glad the cat came through for you. =)

  2. Elizabeth

    Ewww!! Your poor Docs! I’ve got a room but it comes with a really long commute.

  3. Jeremy & Alicia

    What a riot! Thanks for sharing the story.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

