LET’S TALK ABOUT WEATHER!

Usually I think of talking about the weather as sort of avoidance of true relationship – something to fill time without really connecting to another person.  But there are two things in our local weather worth talking about.  And I don’t think it is too much of avoiding real issues.

As you can see from the photo above, there is snow on them there mountains.  Yep, last night that happened.  I guess it got a bit cold up there, don’t you think.  And put it in this perspective – that is what is left of the snow at 3:30 p.m. when I took the photo.  It’s had a whole day to be melting away.  Must have been a fair amount of the white stuff up there.

A sign of transition coming!

Our weather the past three days has been characterized by wind.  Rushing wind.  Strong wind – blow the power out for hours kind of strong wind.

I’ve said it before, but I will remind you, I love the wind.  It just feels so powerful and joyful to me.  Sure, it can be annoying.  Yep, it can make a mess of my hair, especially since my hair is too short to conveniently pull it all back anymore.   Until yesterday the wind has been accompanied by warm weather.  Like in the 90’s.  Hot, dry and windy – what, did the wind think this was southern California?

But here is a really cool thing. 

In church yesterday morning one of the songs we sang was “All Creatures of Our God and King,”  a beautiful hymn.  And the first part of the second verse is wonderful:

Thou rushing wind that art so strong

Ye clouds that sail in heavens along

O praise Him!  Alleluia!

Finally I connected with something that describes my view of wind.  It is a praise of God and a shout of Alleluia. 

Bet most of you never thought of it that way before.  But St. Francis of Assisi, the author of the hymn, he thought of it like me.

And that’s good company!

Just so you know, I heard it’s going to get back up  into the low 90’s by Wednesday, so winter is not here yet. 

Good thing too, because yesterday I noticed the first reddening tomato on my bushes – short growing season in Montana!

Yesterday was baptisms at our church yesterday, and I will try to share a bit of something about that tomorrow!  (I’ve got tons on my mind these days!)

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

