THINKING THINGS THROUGH

1.     I’m working on some grant writing at work.  This is a new area for me, although I’ve had a bit of advise given to me to guide me.  But I ran across something today that just threw me. 

I start the process with this private foundation by submitting an on-line Letter of Inquiry.  Basically an on-line form that gets filled out. 

Not hard.

Or so I thought.

Then I notices in the box where we are to describe our project we are given a limitation.  1000 characters.

Not 100o words, characters.

And they count spaces.

Holy Moly!  How do you describe a small portion of a $8,500,000 project and the school it benefits in 1000 characters?

I figured it out, but I’m amazed at the limitation.

If you are a foundation that gives out grants in the 10s of thousands of dollars, don’t you want to have good information about the group the money is going to?  I understand a limitation so you don’t have to wade through novels, but 1000 characters?  Just seems a bit stingy to me.

2.     It is so fun to look at what J will be reading in 5th grade.  I got a chance to go through the books today, and I’m excited for him. 

They start with The Magician’s Nephew  and will work their way through:

  • Where the Red Fern Grows
  • Adventures of Tom Sawyer
  • The Eagles of the Ninth
  • The Witch of Blackbird Pond
  • Mrs. Frisby & the Rats of Nimh
  • Big Red
  • The Princess and the Goblin
  • The Phantom Tollbooth
  • Adam of the Road

Amazing books!  I’m so happy he’ll get to be exposed to such a wide range of literature. 

3.     This will be the first time that J has a male teacher, and I think that is exciting too.  Mr. C is a great guy, with a soft and quiet way of being, but who places a big emphasis on teaching kids to be accountable for their actions and for how they handle their responsibilities. 

 J will benefit from that.

4.     We’re going camping with another family from the school this weekend – which really should be lots of fun.  J loves the idea of going with others so he has a friend to play with.

I guess another fifth-grade boy beats his old fuddy-duddy parents for camping company.

Go figure.

5.     This morning as I was walking around our front field I looked over at the house and thought “We sure have a beautiful property.”

I know, that’s probably not a very  humble thought, but man, I love where we live.

6.     I’ve got many thoughts brewing in my mind about the church body and how it cares for one another.  I need to work through it some more, but I’m realizing that responding to needs when someone asks for help is not sufficient.  Knowing the members of your faith family well enough to anticipate and meet their needs is really what we are called to.  That is what is called for in Titus when the younger people are called to care for the older, and the older people are called to advise the younger.  I’m hoping to do a full post about this in the next week or two, but I need to let the ideas steep a little so the Holy Spirit can give me the boost necessary to get it right.

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “THINKING THINGS THROUGH

  1. 1000 characters? crazy. and.. can i come for a visit? what a beautiful view… *sigh* i could sit there for hours.

  2. gary bowden

    Hey! sounds like things are going well Jansse looks like a football player should; congrats on keeping under 1ooo , that sounds hard, have fun camping
    Daddy

  3. Hi there! Thanks so much for visiting my blog and your kind words 🙂
    Can I come visit with Sasha??? LOVE that view too!! Gorgeous

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

